My Point is…

pov

There seems to be a lot more books written in the 1st person pov on the market recently. I wonder why this is. It’s not my favourite pov to read from and definitely isn’t my favourite pov to write in. I’ve done a few 1st person short stories but I couldn’t imagine spending the whole length of a novel trapped inside just one person’s head; and I grow to hate the amount of i’s that have to appear in the story.

To demonstrate this I thought I’d be clever and use the search and find facility in Word to count the number of i’s in a 70,000 word document written in 3rd person compared to one written in 1st. I actually got as far as typing i into find before I realised the impossibility of my task.

pov 1

Leave a Reply

